Get the Daily News Digest in your inbox each morning. Sign Up

Speaker announces House committee leadership

By TODD STACY, Alabama Daily News

MONTGOMERY, Ala. – House Speaker Mac McCutcheon (R – Monrovia) on Monday announced the leadership of the House of Representatives’ 25 standing committees for the new term of the Alabama Legislature.

“Each of these members possess specific talents, experiences, knowledge, and leadership skills, and we worked hard to match those factors with the committees they fit best,” McCutcheon said.  “The men and women we name today have my full faith and confidence, and I know they will use their chairman positions to help make our already great state even better.”

McCutcheon was recently selected as the speaker-designate of the 77-member House Republican Caucus and is expected to be officially reelected but the full 105-member body during the upcoming organizational session in January. McCutcheon said announcing chairmanship announcements ahead of the organizational session will allow House staff more time to prepare for legislative work.

Full committee rosters will be announced during the 2019 organizational session, which is scheduled to convene on January 8.

House Standing Committees with Chairs and Vice Chairs listed:


Chairman Mike Jones (R – Andalusia) and Vice Chair Paul Lee (R – Dothan)

Consent Calendar Subcommittee: Chairwoman Pebblin Warren (D – Tuskegee)


Ways and Means Education

Chairman Bill Poole (R – Tuscaloosa) and Vice Chair Danny Garrett (R – Trussville)


Ways and Means General Fund

Chairman Steve Clouse (R – Ozark) and Vice Chair Kyle South (R – Fayette)


Agriculture and Forestry

Chairman Danny Crawford (R – Athens) and Vice Chair Steve Hurst (R – Munford)


Boards, Agencies, and Commissions

Chairman Howard Sanderford (R – Huntsville) and Vice Chair Mike Holmes (R – Wetumpka)


Children and Senior Advocacy

Chairman K.L. Brown (R – Jacksonville) and Vice Chair Randall Shedd (R – Cullman)


Commerce and Small Business

Chairman Jim Carns (R – Vestavia) and Vice Chair Dimitri Polizos (R – Montgomery)


Constitution, Campaigns, and Elections

Chairman Matt Fridy (R – Montevallo) and Vice Chair Bob Fincher (R – Woodland)


County and Municipal Government

Chairman Reed Ingram (R – Montgomery) and Vice Chair Margie Wilcox (R – Mobile)


Economic Development and Tourism

Chairwoman Becky Nordgren (R – Gadsden) and Vice Chair Ron Johnson (R – Sylacauga)


Education Policy

Chairwoman Terri Collins (R – Decatur) and Vice Chair Danny Garrett (R – Trussville)


Ethics and Campaign Finance

Chairman Mike Ball (R – Madison) and Vice Chair Rich Wingo (R – Tuscaloosa)


Financial Services

Chairman Chris Blackshear (R – Phenix City) and Vice Chair Jimmy Martin (R – Clanton)


Fiscal Responsibility

Chairman Chris Sells (R – Greenville) and Vice Chair Mike Holmes (R – Wetumpka)



Chairwoman April Weaver (R – Brierfield) and Vice Chair Ron Johnson (R – Sylacauga)



Chairman Kerry Rich (R – Albertville) and Vice Chair Corley Ellis (R – Columbiana)


Internal Affairs

Chairman Randy Wood (R – Anniston) and Vice Chair Nathaniel Ledbetter (R – Rainsville)



Chairman Jim Hill (R – Odenville) and Vice Chair Tim Wadsworth (R – Arley)


Local Legislation

Chairman Alan Baker (R – Brewton) and Vice Chair Ritchie Whorton (R – Valley)


Military and Veterans Affairs 

Chairman Dickie Drake (R – Leeds) and Vice Chair Connie Rowe (R – Jasper)


Public Safety and Homeland Security

Chairman Allen Treadaway (R – Morris) and Vice Chair Allen Farley (R – McCalla)


State Government Chairman Chris Pringle (R – Mobile) and Vice Chair Chris Sells (R – Greenville)


Technology and Research

Chairman Joe Lovvorn (R – Auburn) and Vice Chair Corey Harbison (R – Good Hope)


Transportation, Utilities, and Infrastructure

Chairman Lynn Greer (R – Rogersville) and Vice Chair Joe Faust (R – Fairhope)


Urban and Rural Development

Chairman Randall Shedd (R – Cullman) and Vice Chair David Standridge (R – Hayden)




Get the Daily News Digest in your inbox each morning.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Web Development By Infomedia