Get the Daily News Digest in your inbox each morning. Sign Up

Ivey, Cavanaugh, Marshall snag Retail Association endorsements

The Alabama Retail Association released its election endorsements Monday, favoring incumbents, frontrunners, and those who have supported the retail business agenda for the state’s top jobs.

Gov. Kay Ivey and Attorney General Steve Marshall received endorsements for their runs to win terms in their own right, and  Public Service Commission President Twinkle Cavanagh received an endorsement for her campaign for Lt. Governor. The endorsements officially came from RetailPAC, the Alabama Retail Association’s political arm.

“We are confident these candidates are the best choices for these positions,” said Alabama Retail President Rick Brown.

“The Alabama Retail Association believes these candidates understand the issues retailers face and that, if elected, these individuals will give retailers’ interests a fair hearing,” said Alabama Retail Chairman Jacob Shevin.

Retail also endorsed Secretary of State John Merrill, who is running for another term, and Agriculture Commissioner John McMillan, who is running for State Treasurer. 

For the state Supreme Court and appellate court races, RetailPAC endorsed:

  • Supreme Court Chief Justice: Lyn Stuart

  • Associate Supreme Court Justice Place 1: Brad Mendheim

  • Associate Supreme Court Justice Place 4: Jay Mitchell

  • Court of Civil Appeals Judge Place 1: Christy Edwards

  • Court of Civil Appeals Judge Place 2: Terri Thomas

  • Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Place 1: Richard Minor

  • Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Place 2: Chris McCool

  • Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Place 3: Bill Cole

The Alabama Retail Association also announced its endorsements for legislative races.

For the Alabama Senate, RetailPAC endorsed:

  • District 2: Tom Butler, R-Huntsville

  • District 4: Garlan Gudger, R-Cullman

  • District 6: Larry Stutts, R-Tuscumbia

  • District 8: Steve Livingston, R-Scottsboro

  • District 10: Mack Butler, R-Rainbow City

  • District 12: Del Marsh, R-Anniston

  • District 13: Randy Price, R-Opelika

  • District 21: Gerald Allen, R-Tuscaloosa

  • District 25: Ronda Walker, R-Montgomery

  • District 26: John Knight, D-Montgomery

  • District 33: Vivian Davis Figures, D-Mobile

  • District 34: Jack Williams, R-Wilmer

For the Alabama House of Representatives, RetailPAC endorsed:

  • District 4: Parker Moore, R-Decatur

  • District 9: Scott Stadthagen, R-Hartselle

  • District 10: Mike Ball, R-Madison

  • District 12: Corey Harbison, R-Cullman

  • District 14: Tim Wadsworth, R-Arley

  • District 16: Kyle South, R-Fayette

  • District 19: Laura Hall, D-Huntsville

  • District 22: Ritchie Whorton, R-Owens Cross Roads

  • District 27: Wes Kitchens, R-Arab

  • District 30: Robert McKay, R-Ashville

  • District 31: Mike Holmes, R-Wetumpka

  • District 32: Barbara Boyd, D-Anniston

  • District 33: Ron Johnson, R-Sylacauga

  • District 39: Ginny Shaver, R-Leesburg

  • District 42: Jimmy Martin, R-Clanton

  • District 45: Dickie Drake, R-Leeds

  • District 48: Jim Carns, R-Birmingham

  • District 49: April Weaver, R-Alabaster

  • District 55: Rod Scott, D-Fairfield

  • District 56: Louise Alexander, D-Bessemer

  • District 58: Rolanda Hollis, D-Birmingham

  • District 60: Juandalynn Givan, D-Birmingham

  • District 64: Harry Shiver, R-Bay Minette

  • District 65: Elaine Beech, D-Chatom

  • District 67: Prince Chestnut, D-Selma

  • District 69: Kelvin Lawrence, D-Hayneville

  • District 73: Matt Fridy, R-Montevallo

  • District 76: Thad McClammy, D-Montgomery

  • District 82: Pebblin Warren, D-Tuskegee

  • District 85: Dexter Grimsley, D-Newville

  • District 97: Adline Clarke, D-Mobile

  • District 102: Willie Gray, R-Citronelle

  • District 105: Chip Brown, R-Mobile


Get the Daily News Digest in your inbox each morning.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Web Development By Infomedia