Get the Daily News Digest in your inbox each morning. Sign Up

Alabama’s Jones, Smith, Harris lead 6 Tide AP All-Americans

By RALPH D. RUSSO, AP College Football Writer

Heisman Trophy finalists Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith have been selected to The Associated Press All-America team, leading a contingent of five Alabama players on the first-team offense.

Crimson Tide running back Najee Harris, tackle Alex Leatherwood and center Landon Dickerson are also first-team selections.

No. 1 Alabama is the first team since 1980, when the AP All-America team began featuring two wide receivers and two running backs, to place a quarterback, running back and receiver on the first team.

Cornerback Patrick Surtain II gives the Crimson Tide six first-team selections, the most in the nation. No. 4 Notre Dame, Alabama’s College Football Playoff opponent this weekend, has two first-team All-Americans in offensive guard Aaron Banks and linebacker Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah.

Florida’s Kyle Trask was selected second-team quarterback and fellow Heisman finalist Trevor Lawrence of Clemson was the third-team quarterback on the AP teams released Monday. Lawrence, the likely first pick in the next NFL draft, made AP All-America for the first time in his career.

No. 2 Clemson, which will face No. 3 Ohio State in the CFP semifinal at the Sugar Bowl on Friday night, had only one other player selected to the All-America teams: Running back Travis Etienne made the first-team as all-purpose player. The senior has been a second-team All-American at running back the last two seasons.

Ohio State guard Wyatt Davis is the only player to repeat as a first-team All-American after making it in 2020. Davis is one of two Buckeyes on the first team along with cornerback Shaun Wade.

The 2020 AP All-America team



Quarterback — Mac Jones, junior, Alabama.
Running backs — Najee Harris, senior, Alabama; Breece Hall, sophomore, Iowa State.
Tackles — Brady Christensen, junior, BYU; Alex Leatherwood, senior, Alabama.
Guards — Aaron Banks, senior, Notre Dame; Wyatt Davis, junior, Ohio State.
Center — Landon Dickerson, senior, Alabama.
Tight end — Kyle Pitts, junior, Florida.
Receivers — DeVonta Smith, senior, Alabama; Elijah Moore, junior, Mississippi.
All-purpose player — Travis Etienne, senior, Clemson.
Kicker — Jose Borregales, senior, Miami.


Ends — Rashad Weaver, senior, Pitt; Tarron Jackson, senior, Coastal Carolina.
Tackles — Daviyon Nixon, junior, Iowa; Darius Stills, senior, West Virginia.
Linebackers — Zaven Collins, junior, Tulsa; Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, senior, Notre Dame; Joseph Ossai, junior, Texas.
Cornerbacks — Patrick Surtain II, junior, Alabama; Shaun Wade, senior, Ohio State.
Safeties — Talanoa Hufanga, junior, Southern California; Brandon Joseph, redshirt freshman, Northwestern.
Punter — Pressley Harvin III, senior, Georgia Tech.



Quarterback — Kyle Trask, senior, Florida.
Running backs — Jaret Patterson, junior, Buffalo; Javonte Williams, junior, North Carolina.
Tackles — Liam Eichenberg, senior, Notre Dame; Christian Darrisaw, junior, Virginia Tech.
Guards — Cain Madden, junior, Marshall; Kenyon Green, sophomore, Texas A&M.
Center — Tyler Linderbaum, sophomore, Iowa.
Tight end — Hunter Long, junior, Boston College.
Receivers — Jaelon Darden, senior, North Texas; Jonathan Adams Jr., senior, Arkansas State.
All-purpose player — Kadarius Toney, senior, Florida.
Kicker — Cade York, sophomore, LSU.


Ends — Jaelen Phillips, senior, Miami; Patrick Jones, senior, Pitt.
Tackles — Alim McNeil, junior, North Carolina State; Haskell Garrett, senior, Ohio State.
Linebackers — Mike Rose, junior, Iowa State; Nik Bonitto, sophomore, Oklahoma; Nick Bolton, junior, Missouri.
Cornerbacks —Tre’Vius Hodges-Tomlinson, sophomore, TCU; Ahmad Gardner, sophomore, Cincinnati.
Safeties — Trevon Moehrig, junior, TCU; James Wiggins, senior, Cincinnati.
Punter — Lou Hedley, junior, Miami.



Quarterback — Trevor Lawrence, junior, Clemson.
Running backs — Michael Carter, senior, North Carolina; Mohamed Ibrahim, junior, Minnesota.
Tackles — Darian Kinnard, junior, Kentucky; Samuel Cosmi, junior, Texas.
Guards — Ben Cleveland, senior, Georgia; Tommy Kraemer, senior, Notre Dame.
Center — Creed Humphrey, junior, Oklahoma.
Tight end — Charlie Kolar, junior, Iowa State.
Receivers — Dyami Brown, junior, North Carolina; Ty Fryfogle, senior, Indiana.
All-purpose player — Avery Williams, senior, Boise State.
Kicker — Jake Oldroyd, sophomore, BYU.


Ends — JaQuan Bailey, senior, Iowa State; Kayvon Thibodeaux, sophomore, Oregon.
Tackles — Christian Barmore, sophomore, Alabama; C.J. Brewer, senior, Coastal Carolina.
Linebackers — Zion Tupuola-Fetui, junior, Washington; Micah McFadden, junior, Indiana; Dylan Moses, senior, Alabama.
Cornerbacks — Greg Newsome, junior, Northwestern; Eli Ricks, freshman, LSU.
Safeties — Kyle Hamilton, sophomore, Notre Dame; Tykee Smith, sophomore, West Virginia.
Punter — Jake Camarda, junior, Georgia.

Get the Daily News Digest in your inbox each morning.


Web Development By Infomedia