Get the Daily News Digest in your inbox each morning. Sign Up

Ivey announces inauguration theme, committee members

From wire and staff reports

MONTGOMERY, Ala. — The theme for Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey inauguration will be “Keep Alabama Growing.”
Ivey and other constitutional office holders will be sworn into office on Jan. 14. Ivey’s inaugural committee announced the theme for the ceremony.

Ivey inaugural committee co-chairs Jimmy Rane and Cathy Randall say the theme underscores Alabama’s campaign promises on job growth and education.

“In less than a year and a half, Governor Ivey led Alabama to record job growth, improved education and set Alabama on a path of prosperity,” said Rane and Randall said in a joint statement.

Official logo of Gov. Kay Ivey’s 2019 Inauguration

“The 2019 Inaugural theme, Keep Alabama Growing, underscores Governor Ivey’s promise to build upon these successes and grow more opportunities for Alabamians. We’re inspired by Governor Ivey’s bold vision for Alabama and look forward to celebrating this exciting new era.”

Ivey, who had been the state’s lieutenant governor, became governor last year when then-Gov. Robert Bentley resigned. She won the office in her own right in November after defeating challenger Walt Maddox.

The committee said inauguration details will be announced at There is an application process for any individuals or groups who wish to participate in the 2019 Inaugural Parade. January 4 is the deadline to submit parade applications.

Ivey also announced members of her honorary inaugural committee, which includes some of the most influential business and education leaders in Alabama. The committee includes:

Dr. Cathy Randall, Co-Chair

Jimmy Rane, Co-Chair

Max & Susan Baggett

Dr. Deborah Barnhart

Jere Beasley

President Stuart Bell

Wiley Blankenship

Louis Breland

Dr. David Bronner

Jeff Coleman

Angus Cooper

Mark Crosswhite

General Ed Crowell

Roy Drinkard

Norman Estes

Nim Frazer

Sandra Gray

Alan Hall

Perry Hand

Raymond Harbert

Phil Hardee

Sheila Hodges

Bo Jackson

Johnny Johns

Debra Jones

Brock Jones

Robert Earl Kelly

Jerry Kelly

Dr. Steven Leath

Elliot Maisel

Bart McCorqoudale

Jane McDonald

Elizabeth McGiffert

Vaughan Morrissette

Tim Parker

Jimmy Parnell

Ken Rivenbark

Clark Sahlie

Gary Smith

Mayor Sandy Stimpson

Mayor Todd Strange

Commissioner Dale Strong

Swaid Swaid

Mike Tracy

Gibson Vance

Tim Vines

Bill Wallace

Phil Webb

John White-Spunner

Jim Wilson

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Get the Daily News Digest in your inbox each morning.

This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Web Development By Infomedia